Prof. Vivian Cook, EuroSLA founder and first president

EuroSLA was founded in Colchester, UK, in 1989. The meeting was organised by Dr. Vivian Cook, who was also the first president of EuroSLA. The next meeting took place in Ksiaz, Poland, in 1990, and the first annual conference was held in Salzburg, Austria, in 1991.

For more details on the history of Eurosla, see The Clarion, issue 5.

For a list of all previous conferences, see Conferences.


Eurosla presidents to date:

1989-1993 Vivian Cook, University of Essex

1993-1995 Esther Glahn, University of Copenhagen

1995-1997 Kari Sajavaara, University of Jyväskylä

1997-1999 Vera Regan, University College, Dublin

1999-2003 David Singleton, Trinity College Dublin

2003-2007 Simona Pekarek Doehler, Université de Neuchâtel

2007-2011 Jean-Marc Dewale, Birkbeck College

2011-2015 Florence Myles, University of Essex

2015- Danijela Trenkic, University of York