Election notice for EuroSLA Committee Elections 2021

Dear EuroSLA member,

The next EUROSLA Executive Committee elections will be held during our Conference in Barcelona 2021. Our constitution states that ‘officers and members of the Executive Committee shall be elected for two years, and the tenure of executive officers shall be maximally two terms’. The present Executive Committee was elected two years ago in Lund, and is therefore due for renewal.

The composition of the executive committee is: President, 2 Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer, and 3 Ordinary members (http://www.eurosla.org/executive-committee/). Current nominations for the elected positions are:

President: Clare Wright, University of Leeds

Vice-Presidents: Jonas Granfeldt, Lund University, & Simone Pfenninger, University of Salzburg (1st term)

Treasurer: Marije Michel, University of Groningen

Secretary: Aline Godfroid, Michigan State University/Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Ordinary members: Roger Gilabert, University of Barcelona (1st term); Vivienne Rogers, Swansea University; Monika Schmid, University of Essex (1st term)

Student rep: Matthew Pattemore, University of Barcelona (new position)

EUROSLA therefore invites nominations to all positions on the Executive Committee. Nominations stay open until 24 hours before the AGM. Most current officers are willing to stand for a second term, or for other positions, and have been nominated as shown. We have a new nomination for the position of Vice-President, as Roger Gilabert completed his second term. And, as of this year, the EC will also be composed of a newly elected student member.
Any member of EUROSLA in good standing with the Association for the current year as well as the previous year is eligible as a candidate for election. Nominations should include a short paragraph suggesting why that person would be good to have on the EC, and must also be accompanied by a statement to the effect that the nominee in question has agreed to let his/her name go forward. If the number of nominations received exceeds the number of positions available, an election by secret ballot will take place during the virtual AGM in Barcelona.

The nomination deadline closes 24 hours before the AGM (to be held on the Friday evening of the Conference). Nominations should be emailed to me as Secretary of the Executive Committee.

If you have any queries about what the EC work involves, don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes

Aline Godfroid

Secretary, EuroSLA EC