EuroSLA Distinguished Scholar Award Nominations by 15 February 2024

Dear EuroSLA member,

Since 2014, the EuroSLA Executive Committee have been proud to present the membership-nominated EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award at our Annual Conference. In the last two years, the award has been given to Professor Jean-Marc Dewaele in 2022 and to Professor Paul Meara in 2023. See more here:

We would like to invite you now to nominate somebody for the EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award 2024 which will be presented at our Annual Conference in Montpellier, France, in July 2024.

The criteria for the award are outstanding scholarship and contribution to the field of second language research in general, especially in a European context, although nominations are not restricted to European scholars. Members of the EuroSLA Executive Committee cannot be nominated (for a list, see

Please send Aline Godfroid (, copy to Jonas Granfeldt (, your formal letter of nomination specifying how the nominee has contributed to second language research. The letter should not exceed an A4 page. The nominee should not be consulted.

The final decision will be made by the Executive Committee at its February meeting in 2024.

Deadline for receipt of nominations: 15 February 2024

We look forward to getting your nominations!

Best wishes

Aline Godfroid (EuroSLA Vice-president)

Jonas Granfeldt (EuroSLA Secretary)