Reminder: DSA nominations

Dear EuroSLA members,

Since 2014, the EuroSLA Executive Committee have been proud to present the membership-nominated EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award at our Annual Conference. The inaugural award went to Professor Vivian Cook in 2014, Professor David Singleton in 2015, Professor Carmen Munoz in 2016, and Professor Mike Sharwood Smith most recently in 2017. See more here:

We would like to invite you now to nominate somebody for the EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award 2018 which will be presented at our Annual Conference in Muenster, Germany, in September 2018.

The criteria for the award are outstanding scholarship and contribution to the field of second language research in general, especially in a European context, although nominations are not restricted to European scholars. Members of the EuroSLA Executive Committee cannot be nominated (for a list, see

Please send Florence Myles (, copy to Clare Wright (, your formal letter of nomination specifying how the nominee has contributed to SLA. The letter should not exceed an A4 page. The nominee should not be consulted.

The final decision will be made by the Executive Committee at its mid-February meeting in 2018.

Deadline for receipt of nominations: Friday 02 February 2017

We look forward to getting your nominations!

Best wishes
Florence Myles (Exec Committee)
Clare Wright (Secretary)