Distinguished Scholar Award 2019: Marianne Gullberg

We are delighted to announce that the recipient of EUROSLA Distinguished Scholar Award for 2019 is Professor Marianne Gullberg.

This distinction is bestowed on Marianne for her outstanding contribution to the field of second language research, from the pioneering work on speech-gesture integration in bilingual speakers, to facilitating the research of others as a dedicated PhD supervisor, journals editor, co-founder of the Nijmegen Gesture Centre, and director of the Lund University Humanities Lab. Marianne has been a long standing supporter of EUROSLA, serving as its vice-president and organising two of its annual conferences 20 years apart.

The award ceremony will take place on 29 August 2019, during the 29th annual EUROSLA conference in Lund.

Previous recipients of the EUROSLA distinguished scholar award are:

2014 Professor Vivian Cook

2015 Professor David Singleton

2016 Professor Carmen Munoz

2017 Professor Mike Sharwood-Smith

2018 Professor Jan Hulstijn