EuroSLA Distinguished Scholar Award Nominations by 1 February 2020

Since 2014, the EuroSLA Executive Committee have been proud to present the membership-nominated EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award at our Annual Conference. In the last two years, the award has been given to Professor Jan Hulstijn in 2018, and Professor Marianne Gullberg in 2019. See more here:

We would like to invite you now to nominate somebody for the EuroSLA Distinguished Scholarship Award 2020 which will be presented at our Annual Conference in Barcelona, Spain, in July 2020.

The criteria for the award are outstanding scholarship and contribution to the field of second language research in general, especially in a European context, although nominations are not restricted to European scholars. Members of the EuroSLA Executive Committee cannot be nominated (for a list, see

Please send Danijela Trenkic (‎, copy to Aline Godfroid (, your formal letter of nomination specifying how the nominee has contributed to second language research.  The letter should not exceed an A4 page. The nominee should not be consulted.

The final decision will be made by the Executive Committee at its February meeting in 2020.

Deadline for receipt of nominations: 1 February 2020

We look forward to getting your nominations!

Best wishes

Danijela Trenkic (Exec Committee)

Aline Godfroid (Secretary)